...but I'm allergic to Jesus!
I just read an article on Yahoo! about how the Catholic Church has stepped in and invalidated a girl's first communion because she has celiac sprue disease. This means she cannot properly digest foods containing the protein gluten. Apparently the communion wafer must contain enough wheat to be called bread by the Catholic Church.
My initial reaction is to call bullshit on the Catholic Church, since it's symbolic anyway. After a few seconds of thought, however, I am left to ponder whether or not it would be "ok" (or within their doctrine or whatever is the correct term) to use genetically modified gluten-free wheat to make the communion wafer. If so, would that be an endorsement of GM foods by the Catholic Church?